A Day in the Life – One Advisor Using Social Media

Editor’s Note: We are pleased to welcome Russ Thornton, independent financial advisor, to the Arkovi blog. Russ was kind enough to provide an inside glimpse of how a successful advisor has developed a workflow to integrate social media into his business. We found it compelling that he has found an approach that enables him to leverage a broad menu of platforms while managing content creation (Hootsuite – which we happen to love too!) and archiving/backup (ahem, using Arkovi) from consolidated tools.

Hi there. I’m Russ Thornton. I want to share with you how I typically spend a day engaged in social media from the perspective of a busy financial advisor.

Getting the Day Started
7:30 AM – This is usually when I start my day. Despite warnings to the contrary, I’ll usually check my email and collect my thoughts on what needs to be accomplished for the day.

8:00 AM – I’ll usually login to Hootsuite (@hootsuite), and quickly assess what’s going on in the wonderful world of social media. I follow a lot of financial advisors on Twitter, but I also like to keep up with designers, technology thought leaders and some of the vendors whose solutions I use in my business.

8:15 AM – I will check my primary Twitter stream along with a couple of lists I’ve created. I’m looking for the opportunity to share valuable content and information from others into my followers’ stream. And the beauty of Hootsuite is that I can schedule these throughout the day.

Let’s say I find 12-15 tweets that I’d like to re-tweet to my followers. I might spread these out over the next 4-5 hours of the day. This allows me to “batch process” some of my social media activities and be more efficient with my time.

8:30 AM – I will check Google Analytics to see what’s been happening on my website and see if there’s anything unusual that needs to be addressed.

8:45 AM – I will check WordPress, my blogging platform of choice, to see if there are any blog comments that I need to approve or respond to.

9:00 AM – I typically post 1-2 times per week to my company blog. If I have a post I’d like to publish today, this is typically when I would do it.

In the Office
9:15 AM – Work. Emails. Phone calls. Meetings.

Often, between calls or meetings, I’ll take 2-3 minutes to check my Hootsuite account where I can monitor Twitter, LinkedIn, and Facebook all in one place. This gives me the opportunity to engage in conversations or reply to items where I can add some value.

This is my pattern throughout the typical workday.

Wrap up the Day
4:00 PM – Check Hootsuite again to find opportunities to engage with others. Will batch process items I’d like to share. Confirm that my blog post has been automatically fed into Twitter, LinkedIn, and Facebook. Check my blog.

I usually wrap up my day around 5:30 PM or so. Of course, in the course of any day, my schedule can get thrown into a tailspin and it’s all I can do to keep my head above water, but in the rare event of a relatively calm day, this gives you an idea of my schedule.

As a financial advisor, I have some other considerations to make while engaging in social media like Twitter. Primary among them . . .

Compliance
So, what do I do to make sure I’m taking all the necessary precautions and steps to ensure that I don’t run afoul of the regulators? Well the first thing I do is think before I type. Common sense will go a long way in helping you avoid problems.

However, my secret weapon in using social media is Arkovi.

Just like Apple computer is known for creating elegant solutions that “just work”, Arkovi has created an archiving solution that “just works” in the background. It’s unobtrusive and doesn’t alter the way I interact with the tools I choose to utilize.

Currently, I use Arkovi to back up:

  • Twitter
  • Facebook – Personal Profile
  • Facebook – Business Page
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • My Blog

And if a new social media platform pops up tomorrow, as long as it has an RSS feed, I can back it up. And if it doesn’t, Arkovi’s development team has proven to be nimble and responsive to use requests.

Sure, I could be an active participant in social media without the peace of mind that comes from working with Arkovi, but why would I want to take the risk?

8 thoughts on “A Day in the Life – One Advisor Using Social Media

  1. Thanks for inviting me to share how I use social media and the tools that make it easy for me to do so. Chief among them . . . Arkovi, of course 🙂

  2. @ Russ good read, if you can do all of the “checking” within 15-30mins great work, I am employeed full time as a social media adviser and let me tell you its a full time gig. Great to see you engaging nonetheless! twitter.com/carl_mogridge

  3. Pingback: Social Computing Platforms

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Day in the Life – a financial advisor uses social media by @russthornton on @arkovibackups blog — Blog: Arkovi Social Media Archiving -- Topsy.com

  5. @carlmogridge – Don’t be mislead by what I’ve outlined above. Social media could very quickly and easily take over my entire day.

    However, I’ve purposely done some things, many of which are described in this post, to help me focus on being engaged while still balancing my other commitments and responsibilities.

    Other things I’ve done to help maintain this balance is limiting the number of people I follow on Twitter to about 100, use of Twitter lists to keep up with others that I don’t follow directly, and using my Facebook Biz page as my primary presence on Facebook even though I have approximately 6X more friends on my personal Facebook profile.

    Thanks for your comment.

  6. Russ,
    Nice post! You’ve got me thinking that I should explore HootSuite more, esp. now that I’m launching a Facebook business page. Thanks for making me aware of new capabilities.

  7. Thanks, Susan. I’m glad you liked the post.

    As more and more platforms emerge with multiple ways to interact with each other, I’ve found Hootsuite to be a valuable tool in helping simplify and consolidate my social media activities.

    You might want to also check out NutshellMail (http://nutshellmail.com/) which allows you to manage your social media from your email inbox.

    Of course, none of this works without an automatic way to backup your activities to address compliance concerns as well as to capture a permanent archive of your social media and other online interactions. For me, Arkovi is the best solution for this.

    Arkovi + Hootsuite + NutshellMail = Social Media & Online awesomeness

  8. Very insightful blog! Enjoyed reading it as it is directly relates to what we are doing right now with our firm. Your tips are all ones that I am looking into currently or plan to. You can find us at http://www.facebook.com/prwealth or follow us at http://twitter.com/ProWealth1 . We are Proactive Wealth Management Group, Inc. http://www.prwealth.com Please feel free to visit and explore our site. PWMG has been using the social media outlets on a regular basis now for over a year and we are continuously experimenting with numerous ideas on how to evolve in new and interesting ways. Specifically, our advisor, Mark F. Scribner, CFS, is dually working on his passion as an Ironman in conjunction with growing our wealth planning firm – an interesting challenge. Read more about Mark on his Ironman for cancer blog http://ironmanforcancer.blogspot.com where he raises funds and awareness through his training. Mark’s unique ability to employ the same motivation for his passion as an athlete, as he does for his commitment to the firm, is very inspiring! We welcome your interest and would be happy to be a contributor at any time.

    Feel free to contact me directly at 1-888-699-5556 ext. 2 or sue@prwealth.com

    Susan R. Curry
    Client Relations Manager

Leave a Reply

